Introducing New Board, Teams for 2024

NCPRSA begins 2024 with a new board of directors and strong teams to support all the professional development, networking, and fun that makes our chapter such an impactful group of PR professionals. In our work, you simply can’t have enough friends and you can’t have enough folks who will pick up the phone when you call.

Here is the new NCPRSA Board of Directors for 2024:
Van Denton, Director of Communications, North Carolina Education Lottery, President
Frank Williams, President, Pioneer Strategies, Immediate Past President
David Hamilton, Senior Communications Manager, North American at Lenovo, President Elect & Seminar Chair
Rhonda Greene, Information and News Services Manager at North Carolina State University, Secretary
Victoria Moore, Account Executive, Largemouth Communications, Vice President & Membership Chair
Mark Hoskins, Senior Communications Manager, Okta, Treasurer
Sarah Hattman, APR, freelance PR consultant, Director APR Chair
Kalyca Becktel, Ph.D., APR, Assistant Professor of Public Relations, North Carolina State University, Director, Awards Co-Chair
Matt Lail APR, Director, Awards Co-Chair
Mary Cullen, Manager, NP Strategy, Director, Programs Co-Chair
Katie Spigner, Account Executive, Blueprint Business Communications, Director, Co-Chair
Zach Drennan, Senior Creative Strategies, Pioneer Strategies, Director, Website Chair
Kelly Crosby, Senior Account Leader, Pioneer Strategies, Director, Communication Chair
Albert Eckel, Co-founder and Partner, Eckel & Vaughan, Director, Diversity Chair
Riley Templeton, North American Equity & Justice Practice Deputy (Associate Director), APCO Worldwide, Director, PRSSA Chair
Stephanie Llorente APR, Owner, Prep Communications, Director, Ethics Chair

Assembly Delegates:
Jenny Shields, APR, Director of Public and Media Relations, Center for Community Self-Help, Assembly Delegate #1
Corinne Watson, Director of Communications and Events, Victra, Assembly Delegate #2
Sarah Joyce, Assistant Vice President, External Communications, Genpact, Assembly Delegate #3
Board Teams
We’ve been working especially hard this year to take advantage of the big diverse PR industry in North Carolina by bringing more folks into leadership positions. We’re doing that by giving folks an introduction to chapter leadership and the board by building teams to work in key strategic areas. Team members work together with a director and attend board meetings.

Here are those teams:
Programs Team:
Kia Bell, Media Relations, Strategic Communications, and Social Strategy at UNC Chapel Hill;
Ayanna Hernandez, who’s doing freelance PR work;
Katie Baleno, Senior Account Executive at Racepoint Global; and
Suzane Jalot, Director of Development, WARM NC

Communications Team: 
Adam Owens, Communications Manager at the North Carolina Education Lottery;
Kristine Neal APR, Senior Director of Communications, Duke University Hospital; and
Jenny Shields, APR, Director of Public and Media Relations, Center for Community Self-Help.

PR for Good Team: 
– Kristy Fair, Senior Director of Marketing and Communications, Ascom Americas

Wow. When you see these folks serving on our board and on our teams and hear about the work they are doing, it’s a pretty amazing collection of PR professionals.

2024 will be a vintage year for the chapter.